Fertilizing the garden – questions!

OK, it’s time for another garden post. In my last post I asked for tips on what I could improve upon in my garden and almost ALL of you suggested FERTILIZING. Now I can assure you there are about 70 million websites telling me how to fertilize, but they all seem different and some are pretty confusing. IDEALLY I would love to keep my fertilizing natural, but is this possible?

When I began prepping my soil this season I added 3 bags of sheep manure and 1 bag of peat soil to my existing soil with the hope that this would help. In the past I’ve ground egg shells, cut banana peels up, and tossed coffee grinds into my soil but it seems that this is not enough. My partner went out and bought me a bottle of this:I applied it to my tomatoes a few weeks back when the plant began growing fruit but it seems to be just sitting on the top of the soil. Do you use Miracle Gro Shake ‘n Feed?wp-image-1437452975

You can see the fertilizer on my soil
the fertilizer sitting on my soil

Question for all my lovely gardener blog buddies: how do you fertilize, what do you use and how often do you do it?

Honestly when I started my garden I was focused on growing food, eating food, and growing some more. I had never really considered the ‘complicated’ parts of it such as soil pH, fertilizing and what to do when nothing is growing. Well I know I’m in good hands as you people are truly incredible with your feedback, tips and advice 🙂 I can honestly say it is a joy logging onto WordPress to see how your gardens are doing. Xoxo thank you loves

my potatoes came!

Advertisements

Summer garden update

Hi all! I have been reading your blogs a lot, and am constantly amazed by your gardens! I want to learn from you!🌻

My garden got off to a slow start what with the wet cold May & June. By now I expected much more ssuccess from my plamts since last year at this time I was harvesting and replanting. But nope😢 my garden is sad, small, wilting and I’m confused about what’s going on. Here are the photos:

As you can see on the left side my tomatoes and peas are doing fine but the right side is where I planted spinach, bokchoy, radishes, swiss chard, carrots, flowers and they are tiny tiny.

I’m wondering if it’s my soil as I grew tomatoes(LOTS of them) last year in the soil. I added 3 bags of fresh good soil in though so I just don’t know what’s happening. If my soil IS a goner, what can I do to help it? Please don’t tell me I have to remove it all. Because that’s not happening. Help!

Thanks for reading and if you have ANY tips or advice or if this has happened to you…I want to hear from you 🌽🌻🍓

You, Me & Other People – Book Review

You, Me & other People by Fionnuala Kearney

Rating: 4/5

Okay blog friends, I have been READING! I picked up this book in a thrift store for the simple reason that it says “definitely one for fans of Liane Moriarty, Jojo Moyes” on the cover. (lol NO shame, these are my 2 of my fave authors)

This story is about family drama between Beth, Adam(a total dickwad?), daughter Meg, and all Adams women he’s cheated with. The story follows the breakdown of their marriage and drama that unfolds as Beth and Meg come to learn Adam’s lies. The story gradually delves depeer into Adam’s family secrets and it’s revealed that perhaps he is just protecting himself. At the beginning of the book I did not like Adam, and found myself taking sides with Beth and Meg but near the end of the book I understood Adam a bit more and this was the interesting part of the book. The author does a wonderful job at developing the characters. I was worried this book would be predictable but Kearney did a great job filling the book with surprises I didn’t see coming!

This book shows that perhaps you can never really know a person. 

So what do you think?! Would you read this story? Have you read it already? What are YOU reading? 📚 📚 

Religion & spiritually

Religion? Spiritually? These words have been popping up in my life for years now. What’s it all about? Do I need it in my life? How would I do that? *crickets churping*

As a child I was i introduced to church but it wasn’t forced upon me. We would go and I’d go to Sunday school. This continued until I started sports on the weekends at age 6.

I didn’t reconsider having religion in my life again until I was going away to a Catholic boarding school in grade 12. I wasn’t in this school for the church, let me tell you 😬

At this point I was 18 years of age and was surrounded by overly religious people. Quite frankly I thought it was over the top and strange. I prayed, I ate the cracker and juice, confessed a sin or two but it MEANT nothing to me. It wasn’t real. I faked it like any bad 18 year old would. 

Now that I’m a bit more mature(if I do say so myself 😇) I am at a point where I am ready for religion to be part of my life. My partner is Christian and has never pressed me to become Christian as well, however for the past year I’ve been attending church regularly and I’ve come to a place where I’ll pray…a real prayer. 

It’s really quite amazing. I’m proud of myself and interested and excited for this personal growth of mine. My partner is the only person my age that I know of who is openly religious and that makes me a bit hesitant to show my religion publically. So much to learn and so much growth that will happen. 

I wonder about other people…have you gone through a similar journey? Everyone must have their own stories and beliefs. I really want to have an open mind about how my beliefs are changing and I want to hear from YOU! ❤


DIY Jewelry Box Makeover

Hi blog friends!

I don’t do much DIY…or makeovers for that matter! But one of my favourite things to do is wander through thrift stores…trust me, I spend hours doing this. That’s where I found this jewelry box. I only have 2 necklaces BUT I thought one day I might have more and I wanted to start a project!

Please keep in mind this is no Pinterest special DIY project. This is literally me finding  an old $3 jewelry box, dollar store acrylic paint & brushes, and me going wild with paint.

This was a very quick project – I did it over the course of 2 mornings, however you could easily finish this in a couple hours. Like I said I found this (somewhat hideous) shade of blue(green?) at the dollar store, picked up a few paint brushes and just started to paint. I didn’t sand the wood, and as you can see I didn’t even take the handles off the drawers. This might’ve been my biggest mistake…I would’ve liked to keep the handles unpainted, but I made a mistake and couldn’t rub the paint off, so I just painted them all. WOOPS! I suppose another change I would’ve liked to make is a less dreadful colour – but live and learn, right? 

Now I move onto painting the walls in our house – in a lovely grey colour. Will have to show you pictures once it’s finished. 🙂

What sort of DIY do you do? What should my next project be? 

2017-05-15_10.28.23-1