You, Me & Other People – Book Review

You, Me & other People by Fionnuala Kearney

Rating: 4/5

Okay blog friends, I have been READING! I picked up this book in a thrift store for the simple reason that it says “definitely one for fans of Liane Moriarty, Jojo Moyes” on the cover. (lol NO shame, these are my 2 of my fave authors)

This story is about family drama between Beth, Adam(a total dickwad?), daughter Meg, and all Adams women he’s cheated with. The story follows the breakdown of their marriage and drama that unfolds as Beth and Meg come to learn Adam’s lies. The story gradually delves depeer into Adam’s family secrets and it’s revealed that perhaps he is just protecting himself. At the beginning of the book I did not like Adam, and found myself taking sides with Beth and Meg but near the end of the book I understood Adam a bit more and this was the interesting part of the book. The author does a wonderful job at developing the characters. I was worried this book would be predictable but Kearney did a great job filling the book with surprises I didn’t see coming!

This book shows that perhaps you can never really know a person. 

So what do you think?! Would you read this story? Have you read it already? What are YOU reading? ๐Ÿ“š ๐Ÿ“š 

Advertisements

Religion & spiritually

Religion? Spiritually? These words have been popping up in my life for years now. What’s it all about? Do I need it in my life? How would I do that? *crickets churping*

As a child I was i introduced to church but it wasn’t forced upon me. We would go and I’d go to Sunday school. This continued until I started sports on the weekends at age 6.

I didn’t reconsider having religion in my life again until I was going away to a Catholic boarding school in grade 12. I wasn’t in this school for the church, let me tell you ๐Ÿ˜ฌ

At this point I was 18 years of age and was surrounded by overly religious people. Quite frankly I thought it was over the top and strange. I prayed, I ate the cracker and juice, confessed a sin or two but it MEANT nothing to me. It wasn’t real. I faked it like any bad 18 year old would. 

Now that I’m a bit more mature(if I do say so myself ๐Ÿ˜‡) I am at a point where I am ready for religion to be part of my life. My partner is Christian and has never pressed me to become Christian as well, however for the past year I’ve been attending church regularly and I’ve come to a place where I’ll pray…a real prayer. 

It’s really quite amazing. I’m proud of myself and interested and excited for this personal growth of mine. My partner is the only person my age that I know of who is openly religious and that makes me a bit hesitant to show my religion publically. So much to learn and so much growth that will happen. 

I wonder about other people…have you gone through a similar journey? Everyone must have their own stories and beliefs. I really want to have an open mind about how my beliefs are changing and I want to hear from YOU! โค


DIY Jewelry Box Makeover

Hi blog friends!

I don’t do much DIY…or makeovers for that matter! But one of my favourite things to do is wander through thrift stores…trust me, I spend hours doing this. That’s where I found this jewelry box. I only have 2 necklaces BUT I thought one day I might have more and I wanted to start a project!

Please keep in mind this is no Pinterest special DIY project. This is literally me finding  an old $3 jewelry box, dollar store acrylic paint & brushes, and me going wild with paint.

This was a very quick project – I did it over the course of 2 mornings, however you could easily finish this in a couple hours. Like I said I found this (somewhat hideous) shade of blue(green?) at the dollar store, picked up a few paint brushes and just started to paint. I didn’t sand the wood, and as you can see I didn’t even take the handles off the drawers. This might’ve been my biggest mistake…I would’ve liked to keep the handles unpainted, but I made a mistake and couldn’t rub the paint off, so I just painted them all. WOOPS! I suppose another change I would’ve liked to make is a less dreadful colour – but live and learn, right? 

Now I move onto painting the walls in our house – in a lovely grey colour. Will have to show you pictures once it’s finished. ๐Ÿ™‚

What sort of DIY do you do? What should my next project be? 

2017-05-15_10.28.23-1

 

The garden season

Ahh it feels good to be back! How are YOU?! I’m eager to hear how all my blog buddies are doing. 

This year has been a cold one so I’m just beginning to plant seeds now! Unbelievable! This week I will be planting: carrots, radishes, beets, bokchoy, spinach, wild flowers, potatoes and spaghetti squash.

Spaghetti squash is a new one to me…I’ve never grown a squash and I’m wondering if anyone can help me out. I hear I need to make a mound of sorts?

Anyway I’ll be posting photos in the coming days. Now I want to hear all about what YOU are growing! Do share xox ๐ŸŒฑ๐ŸŒฑ๐ŸŒž

Behind Closed Doors, B.A Paris – Book Reviewย 

Behind Closed Doorsย by B.A Paris

Rating: 5/5

This is a fantastic psychological thriller written by B.A Paris. I waited a long time to read Behind Closed Doors so I was excited when I got my hands on a copy!!!๐Ÿ‘

Behind Closed Doors is about a couple, Grace and Jack, who are made out to be living a “perfect” life, in a “perfect” relationship. I don’t know which of you would wish for a relationship their in – Jack calling all the shots, ย Grace seeming like a dolcile little thing. Certainly not me ๐Ÿ˜ต๐Ÿ™ˆ Anyway early on you realize this relationship is far from perfect! We learn how messed up, or shall I say fu*ked Jack is and how manipulative he is. When Grace marries Jack, she becomes captive. She stops working and her independence basically goes down the drain -the only semi normal-ness ย in her life are the dinner parties Jack insists on to keep up their image of a “perfect” couple.

Grace has a wonderful younger sister named Millie who has downs syndrome and acts as Graces inspiration through her journey. Grace feels the need to help Millie who is supposed to come live with Jack and Grace in the near future. Jack’s plans to also hold Millie captive make Grace sick but also push her to act. Throughout the book we get to know Millie and learn how absolutely brilliant she is (we all need a Millie in our lives โค)

The chapters of this book switch between past and present and are told by Grace which I throughly enjoyed as I believe it keeps the fast pace of the story. Every single chapter had me on my toes ย and wanting to read on. I won’t spoil anything but I will say that I loved the ending, which is uncommon for me. Thank you B.A Paris for my first 5/5 rating of 2017! Wonderful and I highly suggest you ALL go find this book (right now):)

It’s ย 2017 my loves!!! What are you starting the year off with in terms of BOOKS?! I’m currently reading Truly Madly Guilty by Liane Moriarty and also The Woods by Harlan Coben. Have you read either of these ones? Happy reading and stay warm out there! โ„โ„ BTW I got twitter! Follow me through my book journey at @Thenannygrannie ๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ˜™