Backpacking MUST haves

I just completed another overnight backpacking trip here in Western Canada and once again I’ve revamped my ‘must have’ list for what I carry up the mountain. I’m not going to tell you the specific place that we hiked to as it’s sad seeing SO many people out in the back country who do not take care of the land, habitats, etc. With that being said if you are curious about doing this hike, get in touch with me and I’m happy to tell you all about where it is.ย 20170729_180245_HDR

There are so many resources about backpacking, hiking and what you need to have in your pack. My most important piece of advice is think about what YOU personally need to survive and be comfortable. For example my partner requires a flask of whiskey, whereas I really need a bar of chocolate once I make it to the top. Everyone is different and you really need to consider what makes you happy and comfortable. Besides the obvious, a tent, a way to cook food, food itself, I have compiled a list of what I pack when I go on overnight camping and hiking trips. Enjoy!

After 15km, almost to camp!
  1. Baby wipes/toilet paper – just do it. Please. I use these magic guys for just about everything. Oh darn, I was eating and food fell down my chest. Oh man, these dehydrated meals made me need to poo, well good thing I have something to wipe with! There are no toilets in the back-country, so let’s just say you will thank me later.
  2. A chair/pad to rest your bum – I don’t need a chair, but it’s nice to have a pad of sorts to sit on especially when camp is rocky or snowy!
  3. Warm clothes! Regardless of the time of year you hike in, it gets cold in the back-country. Think about this- it was 33 degrees C when we left for the hike. By the time we got to camp it was 14 degrees and windy. For every 100m you climb, you lose 1 degree of temperature.ย 
  4. A camera -For me this is something I want as taking photos as I hike motivates me to get to the top. There’s nothing like keeping your head down, walking, climbing and finally getting to the top only to realize you have NOTHING TO SHOW FOR IT besides sore muscles. This may be OK for others but I love taking photos so this one is important for me. It can even be the camera on your phone – but I think it’s worth the weight to hike a good camera to the top. I use my Nikon D3000.

    Sun is going down

5. A book – easy peasy, no brainer! I love to read, therefore there is nothing more lovely than reading when I arrive at camp. I usually pre download an e-book onto my phone rather than lug a full book up to the top. But again, it’s all up to personal preference.

6. A pillow – let me be clear, when you roll your sweater up into a ball it’s just not the same. I own this guy

7. SHOES! Seems like a strange idea, right? I did not bring an extra pair of shoes on my first overnight trip and regretted it. Imagine you have to go pee, but you are stuck on your tent pad, the rest of the world covered in snow and you have to put your boots back on. No. After 11+ hours of hiking, you want those boots OFF your feet and into some slippers, running shoes, sandals, you name it! Anything but boots.dsc_0013.jpg

These 7 things get me by when I’m sore, tired and cranky at the top of a mountain. Let me say it again, these 7 things will likely be different for you, but perhaps it’ll get you started on thinking about personal comforts ๐Ÿ™‚ Now I want to hear from YOU! What do you take up the mountain? Have you ever done an overnight backpacking trip? Should I answer more questions regarding my trips? I cannot wait to hear from you all! Xox




Fertilizing the garden – questions!

OK, it’s time for another garden post. In my last post I asked for tips on what I could improve upon in my garden and almost ALL of you suggested FERTILIZING. Now I can assure you there are about 70 million websites telling me how to fertilize, but they all seem different and some are pretty confusing. IDEALLY I would love to keep my fertilizing natural, but is this possible?

When I began prepping my soil this season I added 3 bags of sheep manure and 1 bag of peat soil to my existing soil with the hope that this would help. In the past I’ve ground egg shells, cut banana peels up, and tossed coffee grinds into my soil but it seems that this is not enough. My partner went out and bought me a bottle of this:I applied it to my tomatoes a few weeks back when the plant began growing fruit but it seems to be just sitting on the top of the soil. Do you use Miracle Gro Shake ‘n Feed?wp-image-1437452975

You can see the fertilizer on my soil
the fertilizer sitting on my soil

Question for all my lovely gardener blog buddies: how do you fertilize, what do you use and how often do you do it?

Honestly when I started my gardenย I was focused on growing food, eating food, and growing some more. I had never really considered the ‘complicated’ parts of it such as soil pH, fertilizing and what to do when nothing is growing. Well I know I’m in goodย hands as you people are truly incredible with your feedback, tips and advice ๐Ÿ™‚ I can honestly say it is a joy logging onto WordPress to see how your gardens are doing. Xoxo thank you loves

my potatoes came!

Summer garden update

Hi all! I have been reading your blogs a lot, and am constantly amazed by your gardens! I want to learn from you!๐ŸŒป

My garden got off to a slow start what with the wet cold May & June. By now I expected much more ssuccess from my plamts since last year at this time I was harvesting and replanting. But nope๐Ÿ˜ข my garden is sad, small, wilting and I’m confused about what’s going on. Here are the photos:

As you can see on the left side my tomatoes and peas are doing fine but the right side is where I planted spinach, bokchoy, radishes, swiss chard, carrots, flowers and they are tiny tiny.

I’m wondering if it’s my soil as I grew tomatoes(LOTS of them) last year in the soil. I added 3 bags of fresh good soil in though so I just don’t know what’s happening. If my soil IS a goner, what can I do to help it? Please don’t tell me I have to remove it all. Because that’s not happening. Help!

Thanks for reading and if you have ANY tips or advice or if this has happened to you…I want to hear from you ๐ŸŒฝ๐ŸŒป๐Ÿ“

You, Me & Other People – Book Review

You, Me & other People by Fionnuala Kearney

Rating: 4/5

Okay blog friends, I have been READING! I picked up this book in a thrift store for the simple reason that it says “definitely one for fans of Liane Moriarty, Jojo Moyes” on the cover. (lol NO shame, these are my 2 of my fave authors)

This story is about family drama between Beth, Adam(a total dickwad?), daughter Meg, and all Adams women he’s cheated with. The story follows the breakdown of their marriage and drama that unfolds as Beth and Meg come to learn Adam’s lies. The story gradually delves depeer into Adam’s family secrets and it’s revealed that perhaps he is just protecting himself. At the beginning of the book I did not like Adam, and found myself taking sides with Beth and Meg but near the end of the book I understood Adam a bit more and this was the interesting part of the book. The author does a wonderful job at developing the characters. I was worried this book would be predictable but Kearney did a great job filling the book with surprises I didn’t see coming!

This book shows that perhaps you can never really know a person. 

So what do you think?! Would you read this story? Have you read it already? What are YOU reading? ๐Ÿ“š ๐Ÿ“š 

Religion & spiritually

Religion? Spiritually? These words have been popping up in my life for years now. What’s it all about? Do I need it in my life? How would I do that? *crickets churping*

As a child I was i introduced to church but it wasn’t forced upon me. We would go and I’d go to Sunday school. This continued until I started sports on the weekends at age 6.

I didn’t reconsider having religion in my life again until I was going away to a Catholic boarding school in grade 12. I wasn’t in this school for the church, let me tell you ๐Ÿ˜ฌ

At this point I was 18 years of age and was surrounded by overly religious people. Quite frankly I thought it was over the top and strange. I prayed, I ate the cracker and juice, confessed a sin or two but it MEANT nothing to me. It wasn’t real. I faked it like any bad 18 year old would. 

Now that I’m a bit more mature(if I do say so myself ๐Ÿ˜‡) I am at a point where I am ready for religion to be part of my life. My partner is Christian and has never pressed me to become Christian as well, however for the past year I’ve been attending church regularly and I’ve come to a place where I’ll pray…a real prayer. 

It’s really quite amazing. I’m proud of myself and interested and excited for this personal growth of mine. My partner is the only person my age that I know of who is openly religious and that makes me a bit hesitant to show my religion publically. So much to learn and so much growth that will happen. 

I wonder about other people…have you gone through a similar journey? Everyone must have their own stories and beliefs. I really want to have an open mind about how my beliefs are changing and I want to hear from YOU! โค