You, Me & Other People – Book Review

You, Me & other People by Fionnuala Kearney

Rating: 4/5

Okay blog friends, I have been READING! I picked up this book in a thrift store for the simple reason that it says “definitely one for fans of Liane Moriarty, Jojo Moyes” on the cover. (lol NO shame, these are my 2 of my fave authors)

This story is about family drama between Beth, Adam(a total dickwad?), daughter Meg, and all Adams women he’s cheated with. The story follows the breakdown of their marriage and drama that unfolds as Beth and Meg come to learn Adam’s lies. The story gradually delves depeer into Adam’s family secrets and it’s revealed that perhaps he is just protecting himself. At the beginning of the book I did not like Adam, and found myself taking sides with Beth and Meg but near the end of the book I understood Adam a bit more and this was the interesting part of the book. The author does a wonderful job at developing the characters. I was worried this book would be predictable but Kearney did a great job filling the book with surprises I didn’t see coming!

This book shows that perhaps you can never really know a person. 

So what do you think?! Would you read this story? Have you read it already? What are YOU reading? 📚 📚 

Advertisement

Book Review Monday

Oooh exciting stuff, I know. It’s Monday and I’m ready to review two books I read recently. Both books were sent to me by publishers, in return for an honest review. So here they are!

Forgotten Secrets by Robin Perini
Published: July 19th, 2016
Rating: 4/5
image

Forgotten Secrets is basically about an FBI agent, Riley Lambert and an ex-navy SEAL, Thanyne Blackwood. Together they investigate missing women in Wyoming, one being Riley’s sister and another being Thayne’s sister. This book is certainly fast paced, there’s really no break in action. I read this one in less than 2 days and was captivated the whole time. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 was the whole plot is rather unbelievable and the ending has a few too many rainbows and butterflies. No spoilers though! Once this book is released to the public in July I would highly recommend it to all of you, it’s a fun book that will grab you right away.

Saving Abby by Steena Holmes
Published: May 31st, 2016
Rating: 2/5
image

I was very excited when the publisher sent me a copy of Saving Abby, but soon after I settled into a comfy chair and began reading this one I was unimpressed. The two main characters, Josh and Claire are a fairy tale couple who seem to compliment each other well. I liked Josh, but Claire was just dense. She refused to help herself; wouldn’t take her medicine, wouldn’t eat and lied about how she was feeling. There wasn’t one relationship in this book I felt a connection to either. Whether it was the friendship between Abby and Claire or Derek and Josh, it was all very tedious. The main focus of every character in the book seemed to be having a baby and living this very bland, streotypical life involving white fluffy dresses and future beautiful children.

On a personal note, I was very frustrated with the obsessed of motherhood, specifically being pregnant. I wish Steena Holmes wouldn’t have glorified it as much as she did, with “Baby Bucketlists”, “Pregnant Wishlists”, at some point I just wanted to scream. Why wasn’t adoption a viable opinion? Instead they proceeded to ruin their lives and everyone elses. The ending was drawn out to add to my annoyance.

I want to know what you think! Are these books that you’d want to read? What are you currently reading? What should I read next? Reminder that we can be friends on Goodreads! 👓📖📚