Guests of War Trilogy- Kit Pearson

Hi blog friends! I wanted to share a trilogy that is fairly old (1989) but I credit this series by Kit Pearson to the reason why I love reading and adore books as much as I do.

This series includes:
The Sky is Falling (#1)
Looking at the Moon (#2)
The Lights Go on Again (#3)

 

I first read this series back when I was 15 and really got engulfed into the characters. The story follows a family in 1940 in England, around the time that Hitler was invading. Norah (age 10) is an older sister to Gavin (age 5), and they are being sent to Canada for a safe upbringing. Their family is staying in England. HEART WRENCHING, YES?

In short, Norah and Gavin are taken in by a rich family in Toronto, Ontario. This series covers their life in Canada, their trials, adventures and sadness. ย If you want a solid, quick, heartwarming/heartbreaking series…this is THE ONE.

Have you ever read The Guests of War Trilogy? Is there one particular book or series that got YOU into reading? I want to hear from you!

You, Me & Other People – Book Review

You, Me & other People by Fionnuala Kearney

Rating: 4/5

Okay blog friends, I have been READING! I picked up this book in a thrift store for the simple reason that it says “definitely one for fans of Liane Moriarty, Jojo Moyes” on the cover. (lol NO shame, these are my 2 of my fave authors)

This story is about family drama between Beth, Adam(a total dickwad?), daughter Meg, and all Adams women he’s cheated with. The story follows the breakdown of their marriage and drama that unfolds as Beth and Meg come to learn Adam’s lies. The story gradually delves depeer into Adam’s family secrets and it’s revealed that perhaps he is just protecting himself. At the beginning of the book I did not like Adam, and found myself taking sides with Beth and Meg but near the end of the book I understood Adam a bit more and this was the interesting part of the book. The author does a wonderful job at developing the characters. I was worried this book would be predictable but Kearney did a great job filling the book with surprises I didn’t see coming!

This book shows that perhaps you can never really know a person. 

So what do you think?! Would you read this story? Have you read it already? What are YOU reading? ๐Ÿ“š ๐Ÿ“š 

Behind Closed Doors, B.A Paris – Book Reviewย 

Behind Closed Doorsย by B.A Paris

Rating: 5/5

This is a fantastic psychological thriller written by B.A Paris. I waited a long time to read Behind Closed Doors so I was excited when I got my hands on a copy!!!๐Ÿ‘

Behind Closed Doors is about a couple, Grace and Jack, who are made out to be living a “perfect” life, in a “perfect” relationship. I don’t know which of you would wish for a relationship their in – Jack calling all the shots, ย Grace seeming like a dolcile little thing. Certainly not me ๐Ÿ˜ต๐Ÿ™ˆ Anyway early on you realize this relationship is far from perfect! We learn how messed up, or shall I say fu*ked Jack is and how manipulative he is. When Grace marries Jack, she becomes captive. She stops working and her independence basically goes down the drain -the only semi normal-ness ย in her life are the dinner parties Jack insists on to keep up their image of a “perfect” couple.

Grace has a wonderful younger sister named Millie who has downs syndrome and acts as Graces inspiration through her journey. Grace feels the need to help Millie who is supposed to come live with Jack and Grace in the near future. Jack’s plans to also hold Millie captive make Grace sick but also push her to act. Throughout the book we get to know Millie and learn how absolutely brilliant she is (we all need a Millie in our lives โค)

The chapters of this book switch between past and present and are told by Grace which I throughly enjoyed as I believe it keeps the fast pace of the story. Every single chapter had me on my toes ย and wanting to read on. I won’t spoil anything but I will say that I loved the ending, which is uncommon for me. Thank you B.A Paris for my first 5/5 rating of 2017! Wonderful and I highly suggest you ALL go find this book (right now):)

It’s ย 2017 my loves!!! What are you starting the year off with in terms of BOOKS?! I’m currently reading Truly Madly Guilty by Liane Moriarty and also The Woods by Harlan Coben. Have you read either of these ones? Happy reading and stay warm out there! โ„โ„ BTW I got twitter! Follow me through my book journey at @Thenannygrannie ๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ˜™

Top Books – 2016

Ahhhh ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s finally time! Way back I thought I should do a yearly recap of all the best books I read this year to share with all you lovely people. This year I set a goal for myself to read 30 BOOKS!!! I am proud to announce I read 32!!! What was your 2016 reading goal and how did you do?! Not that it particularly matters how many books we read, more importantly that we had a relaxing time doing it, right?

OK lets do this. I’m going to do this simply and share ALL the books that received a 4 or better rating by ME. The order doesn’t matter – it’s just the order that I read them in ๐Ÿ™‚

bookcollage

The Golden Son – Somaya Shilpi Gowda

Pretty Girls – Karin Slaugter

Into the Darkest Corner – Elizabeth Haynes

The Stranger – Harlan Coben

The Hypnotists Love Story – Liane Moriarty

The Illegal – Lawrence Hill

The Kind Worth Killing – Peter Swanson

Safe as Houses – Eric Walters

Forgotten Secrets – Robin Perini

My Girl – Jack Jordan

After the Lie – Kerry Fisher

The Vanishing Year – Kate Moretti

Baby Doll – Hollie Overton

ROOM – Emma Donoghue

Me Before You – Jojo Moyes

Primates of Park Avenue – Wednesday Martin

It’s hard to believe I read THIS many wonderful books! Keep in mind these books were not necessarily written in 2016, I just happened to read them this year. NOW what will I read in 2017?! One book I know I want to read is Truly Madly Guilty by Liane Moriarty. I have my copy waiting for me at my public library…I’m about to go pick it up!โœŒ

2016 was a GOOD year for me personally – I went back to school and continued to progress my relationship with my partner. I’ve learned a lot about myself and I even started my first vegetable garden which I’m sure some of you have read about in my prior posts.

Now I want to hear from YOU ๐Ÿ™‚ What books did you LOVE or DISLIKE in 2016? Have you read any of my TOP books? I can’t wait to hear about it!!! What should I read in 2017?! I must THANK YOU ALL for being dedicated readers and friends to my blog, I really do love reading your posts and responding to comments😍. It’s the best fun. OH and if you aren’t my friend on Goodreads, BE MY PAL! I also need to thank Netgalley for providing me with so many lovely books this year. TO EVERYONE: HAPPY 2017 – LET’S READ LOTS, GROW VEGGIES AND EAT TONNES OF YUMMY FOOD โค📚🌱🍅🍷

I See You, Clare Mackintosh – Book Review

Wowzers! I’ve had quite a strange Christmas; surgery and spending 6 days in the hospital! All good now – just thankful for my loved ones. ANYWAY with all that time in a bed I got to read a book I’ve been dying to get my eyes on! ๐Ÿ˜€

I See You

Rating: 3.7/5 (SORRY I just couldn’t give it a 3.5 or 4…HAHA!)

I See You by Clare Mackintosh is one of those books I got hooked to, it was creepy enough to keep me reading yet had a slice predictably…but don’t let that stop you from giving it a chance!

If you haven’t read  I SeeI found Mackintosh did a wonderful job until  You, it’s about a women named Zoe Walker who finds her photo in the classifieds section of the newspaper and understandably  wants to know why her face is next to a phone numer and website called FindTheOne.com. A website where unsuspecting women’s commute details are posted for men to buy, and then do whatever they want with. Zoe discovers some women are victims of violent crimes, even murder. Zoe becomes paranoid, worried she is the next target. I say no more!

There are many WOAH moments in I See You. I’m not a paranoid person but even I thought whether I could be followed easily or stalked. Until chapter 33 I was hooked and thought Mackintosh’s book deserved a 4/5. In chapter 33 the book became predictable and I started rolling my eyes(Sorry!). Throughout the book I did wonder if Zoe’s character needed more depth – or perhaps I thought the woman was a bit…dim! I DID like this book, I just wanted to LOVE it so I was a tad disappointed with the last few chapters. ๐Ÿ˜•

I want to know what YOU think! Have you read I See You? Have you read I Let You Go, Mackintosh’s previous book? I don’t have my next book chosen, so let’s hear some suggestions! 📚 I’m in the need of another good mystery or thriller I think! What are YOU reading? I’m eager to hear from all you lovely people. 😙*Stay tuned for my LAST 2016 post…it’s going.to be a good one! All about this year’s BEST books and a few things I’ve learned 😁